CLUB CHAMPIONSHIP (GROSS)



The original Club Championship trophy was presented to the club by Jean Hall during her year as captain. As the club had grown both in numbers and experience, by 1989 it was deemed that we had enough players who were good enough to inaugurate a club championship played off scratch. Previously the matchplay championship had been the major individual trophy played by the section. The committee had felt that for us to play off scratch would be too demoralising and we would need to take our shoes and socks off to count up the scores over the two days. In fact the first time the trophy was played for it was over 27 holes on one day. I seem to remember there were long discussions in committee as to whether we were "allowed" to run a club championship with no silver players and also whether it was OK not to play 36 holes on one day.

Over the period that the competition has been played it has varied from 27-36 holes played on the same day or consecutive days in an effort to get as many people as possible to enter. Unfortunately it is often the case that only a few players take part in the first round with others joining on the Sunday even when the net prize was introduced to run alongside the main completion in 2002.

In 2003 the original trophy was full of the names of the previous winners and Kay Mott got it refurbished with a larger base and back plate so that more names could be added to it.

YEAR	WINNER	YEAR	WINNER
1989	J. Edmenson	2007	M. Nisbet
1990	A. Maxwell	2008	E. Greenwell
1991	L. Luke	2009	R. Horner
1992	A. Maxwell	2010	R. Horner
1993	A. Maxwell	2011	R. Horner
1994	P. Woodward	2012	M. Nisbet
1995	P. Woodward	2013	M. Nisbet
1996	A. Maxwell	2014	M. Brown
1997	M. Nisbet	2015	T. Hahn
1998	M. Nisbet	2016	T. Hahn
1999	E. Greenwell	2017	A. Maxwell
2000	M. Nisbet	2018	E. Greenwell
2001	M. Nisbet	2019	L. Luke
2002	I. Foley	2020	A. Maxwell
2003	E. Greenwell	2021	P. Usher
2004	M. Nisbet	2022	S. Storry
2005	A. Maxwell	2023	T. Hann
2006	L. Nelson	2024	A. Maxwell